MILTI-PURPOSE OPTICAL SPECTROMETERS FOR MEDICAL AND BILOLOGICAL STUDIES

E-mail: koker@kapella.gpi.ru

The family of all-in-one remote probe fluorescence spectrometers with built-in excitation lasers have been developed and are manufactured in General Physics Institute and Cluster Ltd. The spectrometers are applied for remote optical measurements from a surfaces and volume of different objects including reflectance and fluorescence spectra of biological objects.

The optical spectrometers are the unique devices which incorporate a grating polychromator with a multichannel photodetector together with up to three excitation lasers (FS003A - fluorescence spectrometer). The polychromator and the lasers are integrated into a CD-ROM-size module which is installed directly into a PC. The operating range of a spectrometer is 400-1000 nm. The choice of a laser source in 400-700 nm spectral range depends on the aim of the study. For remote fluorescence measurements the devices are equipped with the fiber optical probes having a length of up to 3 m and the outer diameter in 1.2-3 mm range. The probes are used for simultaneous excitation laser light delivery to an object, and for collection of fluorescence and reflected light from it. Spectral resolution of a spectrometer with fiber-optical probe is less then 3 nm. In the surface measurements, the spatial resolution can reach 1 mm. The modifications of the fiber-optical probes were developed for different applications which allow using the device in operation room, laboratories, and outdoor conditions including underwater measurements.

The spectral fluorescence analysis system Spectre-Cluster was developed on the base of this optical spectrometer jointly with P.A. Herzten Moscow Research Oncological Institute. The System is applied for fluorescence diagnostics of cancer and allows detecting small size malignant lesions of skin and hollow organ mucosa. The System was tested during the clinical trials of the all photosensitizers approved for photodynamic therapy of cancer in Russia (Photogem, Alasense, Photosense, Radachlorin, Photoditazin, Photolon). The long-term cooperation between our Institutes resulted in the development of the methods of local fluorescence spectroscopy (LFS) under multiple wavelength excitations in the different spectral ranges. The basic methodological approaches and indications for in vivo LFS applications in clinical oncology were also developed.

Except the fluorescence detection of cancer, the remote optical spectrometers have been effective in other applications including epifluorescence control in cosmetology, express diagnosis of virus contamination in leaves and some others.

 



E-mail : ,
-

Российское фотобиологическое общество

МНОГОФУНКЦИОНАЛЬНЫЕ ОПТИЧЕСКИЕ СПЕКТРОМЕТРЫ ДЛЯ МЕДИКО-БИОЛОГИЧЕСКИХ ИССЛЕДОВАНИЙ

E-mail: koker@kapella.gpi.ru

В ИОФ РАН и ООО «Кластер» разработаны и выпускаются оптические спектрометры для дистанционного изучения оптических спектров с поверхности или из объема различных материалов, включая спектры отражения и флуоресценции биологических объектов.

Оптические спектрометры представляют собой уникальные изделия, в состав которых входят решеточный полихроматор с многоканальным фотоприемником и возбуждающие лазерные источники (в количестве от одного до трех) (флуоресцентный спектрометр FS003A). Полихроматор и лазерные источники возбуждения интегрированы в единый модуль, непосредственно устанавливаемый в стандартный персональный компьютер. Спектральный диапазон прибора - 400-1000 нм. Выбор длины волн лазерного источника возбуждения в диапазоне 400-700 нм определяется задачами исследования. С целью проведения дистанционных измерений прибор оснащается волоконно-оптическими зондами длиной до 3 м и диаметром от 1.2 до 3 мм, по которым доставляется лазерное возбуждающее излучение и излучение, принимаемое от зондируемого объекта. Спектральное разрешение спектрометра с волоконно-оптическим зондом составляет менее 3 нм, пространственное разрешение при сканировании зонда вдоль поверхности биологического объекта составляет порядка 1 мм. Модификации зондов позволяют применять прибор в условиях операционных, клиник, лабораторий, также в полевых условиях, включая подводные измерения.

Совместно с Московским научно-исследовательским онкологическим институтом им. П.А.Герцена на базе спектрометра разработана установка «Спектр-Кластер», предназначенная для флуоресцентной диагностики злокачественных новообразований кожи и слизистых оболочек полых органов. Установка была апробирована со всеми применяющимися в России фотосенсибилизаторами из класса порфиринов, хлоринов и фталоцианинов. По результатам многолетних совместных исследований в области флуоресцентной диагностики при фотодинамической терапии рака разработаны методики локальной флуоресцентной спектроскопии (ЛФС) при лазерном возбуждении биологических тканей в различных спектральных областях (синем, зеленом и красном) и выработаны основные показания к их применению в клинической онкологии.

Помимо применения в онкологии, прибор показал высокую эффективность в других областях медицины, косметологии, биологии, в сельском хозяйстве для экспресс диагностики вирусных поражений растений на ранних стадиях.

 



E-mail РФО: ,
Веб-секретарь – Лариса Коппель